Home Qatar Curriculum Full Access Life Cycle of a Frog

Life Cycle of a Frog


The life cycle of a frog has three stages: egg, tadpole and adult. An adult frog typically lays thousands of eggs, in or near water, that hatch to form a tadpole. The tadpole breathes through gills and swims with the help of its long tail. During the transformation, from tadpole to a frog, the gills disappear and four legs appear while the tail shortens until it disappears. This process in which the tadpole transforms into its adult, is known as metamorphosis.

Learning Objectives:

After completing this module, you will be able to:
- Explain various stages in the life cycle of a frog.
- Differentiate between tadpole and adult stage of frog.
- Construct the life cycle of the frog.

Keywords Hatching , Metamorphosis , Egg Stage , Tadpole Stage , Froglet Stage , Adult Stage
Controller Required Yes
Languages English - US , 中文 , عربي , Español , Tiếng Việt
Domain K-12
Topic Code HS100063
Devices Google Cardboard with controller , Google Daydream , Samsung Gear VR , Oculus Go , Pico Goblin , EduPro , WebXR