Home Qatar Curriculum Full Access Life Cycle of the Butterfly

Life Cycle of the Butterfly


A butterfly has four distinct stages in its life cycle: egg, larva, pupa, and adult. The eggs hatch in 3 to 4 days to produce a larva also known as the caterpillar. The caterpillar exhibits the feeding stage and then transforms into a pupa which is known as the resting stage. After this, the pupa undergoes remarkable transformation, called ‘metamorphosis, and forms the parts that make up the adult butterfly.

Learning Objectives:

After completing this module, you will be able to:
- Explain various stages in the life cycle of a butterfly.
- Compare the larval and adult forms of the butterfly.
- Construct life cycle of a butterfly.

Keywords Larva / Caterpillar , Pupa / Resting Stage , Egg , Hatching , Metamorphosis
Controller Required Yes
Languages English - US , 中文 , عربي , Español , Tiếng Việt
Domain K-12
Topic Code HS100053
Devices Google Cardboard with controller , Google Daydream , Samsung Gear VR , Oculus Go , Pico Goblin , EduPro , WebXR